Ripple National Trust Bank Receives Final OCC Approval for Crypto Custody and Stablecoin Reserves
UpGatePositiveRegulation & policy

Ripple National Trust Bank Receives Final OCC Approval for Crypto Custody and Stablecoin Reserves

Reading time: 3 min

Ripple National Trust Bank (RNTB), a national trust bank based in New York, has secured final approval from the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC). This federal charter empowers RNTB to manage reserves for Ripple’s RLUSD stablecoin and provide custody and fiduciary services for digital assets to enterprise clients.

The final approval, granted after a conditional charter on December 12, 2025, completes a significant regulatory process. Full operational authorization for RNTB, identified by charter number 25364, is anticipated by March 2026.

Operational Scope and Limitations

Under its OCC charter, RNTB’s activities are strictly confined to fiduciary functions. The bank will not accept deposits or issue loans, focusing exclusively on the custody and reserve management of digital assets. This specialized scope means RNTB’s growth will be driven by demand for these specific services.

Regulatory Context and Stablecoin Confidence

The approval positions RNTB to play a crucial role in the stablecoin landscape. RLUSD is currently issued by Standard Custody & Trust Company, LLC, regulated by the New York Department of Financial Services (NYDFS). With RNTB’s federal charter, RLUSD’s reserve arrangements will now benefit from dual oversight by both the OCC and the NYDFS. This layered regulatory framework is expected to enhance confidence in RLUSD.

This development aligns with the broader regulatory environment established by the GENIUS Act, enacted in July 2025, which created a federal framework for U.S. stablecoins. The OCC also granted conditional approvals to other digital asset firms, including Circle, Paxos, and BitGo, on the same day as RNTB’s initial conditional approval, signaling a concerted effort to provide regulatory clarity.

Competitive Landscape

The new charter establishes a second line of business for Ripple, extending beyond its stablecoin offerings. This strategic move intensifies Ripple’s competitive stance against firms like BitGo and Paxos, which also received conditional OCC charters. Furthermore, it sharpens the rivalry with Circle, whose USDC stablecoin has long been a preferred choice for institutions prioritizing compliance.

Ripple CEO Brad Garlinghouse has stated that the goal for RLUSD is to be the most transparent and responsibly managed stablecoin on the market. The dual regulatory oversight from the OCC and NYDFS is anticipated to support this objective by bolstering confidence in RLUSD.

The timeline for RNTB’s final approval followed its conditional grant on December 12, 2025, with full authorization expected by March 2026. The precise date of the final approval is not specified.

Why This Matters

The materials describe a narrow update: Ripple National Trust Bank (RNTB), a national trust bank based in New York, has received final approval from the OCC. The exact date of final approval is not specified, only that it followed the conditional approval on December 12, 2025, and full authorization was expected by March 2026.

Broader Context

Source materials place the factual news in this context: Ripple now has a federally chartered bank.

Tags:UpGatePositiveRegulation & policy
Copied